Coronavirus: Five countries block flights from South Africa

South African scientists last week confirmed that the new variant could see more people infected in the country’s second wave than in the initial surge… While it is still unclear whether it is more deadly, it appears to be spreading faster and parts of the Eastern and Western Cape provinces are facing strict lockdown restrictions. Israel, Turkey, Germany, Saudi Arabia and Switzerland have all barred air travel to and from South Africa.”

via Vanguard
More analysis from COVID-19 Africa Watch: